Landguard Fort has a long and rich history. Originally built at the behest of Henry the Eighth it is the only fort in England to have repelled a full scale invasion attempt. This was in 1667 when Captain Nathaniel Darell and 500 men defeated Admiral de Ruyter's Dutch force on 2nd July (Darell day is still celebrated). Since then the Fort has seen many changes during its time under military control up to 1956, when the army finally marched out. What remains now are parts of the walls and casemate rooms within, dating from the Fort of 1744 and later changes made during Queen Victoria's reign
In collaboration with English Heritage the Landguard Fort Trust has taken over the running and management of the Fort since the autumn of 1998. During 1997-98 extensive renovations were carried out on the structure of the Fort. A programme to develop educational, interpretational and display materials is continuing.
Entry is £2.50 for adults, £1.50 for children and £2.00 for concessions and the fort will be open seven days a week from 6 April to the end of September from 10:00 to 18:00 and 10:00 to 17:00 through October to 2nd November
There are currently no events in the Felixstowe area during the next 3 months that we know about.